Favorites
0
Cart
Must-see

The Hotel d’Assézat

This magnificent town house was commissioned in 1555 by the wealthy merchant and Capitoul Pierre d’Assézat. The greatest Toulouse architect of the Renaissance, Nicolas Bachelier, drew up the plans and it was his son who completed the building in 1562. It is a masterpiece of Renaissance architecture in Toulouse.

The Courtyard of Honour

The magnificence of this mansion is apparent from the outside. The monumental gateway, a blend of power and finesse with its protruding stonework, invites you to enter the immense Court of Honour.

The courtyard façades elegantly display the full expression of classical architecture, with the superimposition of three orders on each floor: Doric, Ionic and Corinthian.

The loggia is a real haven of fresh air in the height of summer.

Visiter Toulouse, les toits de Toulouse

The tower is the tallest of the town’s private mansion towers. Its top is decorated with a lantern in the shape of a small tempietto, recognisable from afar and adding elegance to the city’s urban skyline.

pastel

In the 16th century, Toulouse became a prosperous city thanks to the pastel trade. The leaves of the plant, Isatis Tinctoria, were used as a blue dye, and its cultivation developed in the south of Toulouse, which became known as the “Pays de Cocagne” in reference to the coques, dried balls of crushed woad leaves.

The arrival of Indian indigo in the 17th century led to the decline of pastel cultivation.

The Hotel d’Assézat now houses the Fondation Bemberg and the Union des Académies et Sociétés Savantes.

Place d’Assézat, 31000 Toulouse

The Bemberg Foundation

Paintings, sculptures, graphic arts, furniture and objets d’art from the 15th to the mid-20th century all find their home and their audience in the Ville Rose.

At the end of the 1980s, Argentine art collector Georges Bemberg was looking for a place to display his collection to the public. The City of Toulouse made a large part of the Hôtel d’Assézat available to the collector to house his prestigious collection, and the museum was inaugurated in 1995 after refurbishment.